Close
Login
Register

Wrestling Advice PLease

Wrestling, jujitsu, ground and pound or submit your opponent for the victory

Wrestling Advice PLease

Postby Soccerdude99 » Fri Oct 02, 2009 12:52 pm

hey im extremely new to folkstyle wrestling. im a junior in highschool and am guna try out for the wreslting team this year. Ima be in the 125lbs ( Im 5'6) most probably. decided to give wrestling a try because some of the people i do bjj with were great college wrestlers and it helps alot with controlling ur opponent on the ground , and wrestling also helped them get into sum good colleges. Any advice for sumone who is completley new to wrestling( only half a year of bjj experience) I also started to hit the gym to pack on sum muscle in attempt to be in shape started to run 2 miles a day. Iv been working on muscle groups like quads and shoulders soposedly there good for wreslters. BUT anyway just lookn for sum advice so i know what im getting into so i dont get completly creamed wen i go for my first meet. Ur advice would be extremely appreciated. =)
Soccerdude99
White Belt
White Belt

Re: Wrestling Advice PLease

Postby ThirdCoastCombat » Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:11 pm

if youve been doing BJJ for a while its gonna be weird for you not being able to fight off of your back. be sure to remember to belly down if you get taken down. also, CARDIO. cardio is gonna be one of your biggest enemies in wrestling. 2 miles a day is a good start, but youre gonna wanna get that up to 5 or 6. if you can run 5 miles and not be completely burnt youll be fine
ThirdCoastCombat
Mod Emeritus

Postby ghostdude8 » Mon Oct 05, 2009 5:13 am

work on your sprawls because in wrestling you can't pull guard lol

just work a lot on improving your sprawl, takedowns (singles, double leg, high crotch) and cardio is the one thing that will help you in wrestling.
ghostdude8
4th Professional Linker Victory
4th Professional Linker Victory

Accolades: Former P4P Champ