Close
Login
Register

Training log

Want to share your work out? this is the place to do it.

Training log

Postby RubenATC » Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:14 am

Hey guys, i just started training about 3 weeks ago and its going good and i wanted to share my experiences with you guys. Right now im taking the beginning striking course and i dont have any prior experience so im just slowly working my way up right now.

Every class we start with like 10 minutes of jumping rope(3 3min rounds) Then we shadow box for another 3 rounds

Today we worked on blocking and countering a little, and slipping punches and countering. This was my first time ever slipping punches and im a bit of a slow learner so it takes me a while.

Then the teacher asked if we wanted to do some light sparring and about half the class(10 people) went into the ring and the other half kept working on the same drills. I wanted to try it out so i decided to go spar. And we were just working the body, no strikes or kicks to the head and we were supposed to go 40%. The 40% blew out the window right away as my partner started swinging full force at my body....so i did the same :lol:

I landed some good leg kicks and some good body shots but i missed some kicks and paid the price. i was out of energy at the end so im going to start doing more cardio. I hope you guys found this a little interesting and not a complete waste of time. I'll try to update this regularly. thanks.
RubenATC
5th Degree Black Belt
5th Degree Black Belt

Re: Training log

Postby ChronicMike » Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:23 am

Hey that sounds awesome man. I started training stand up from a beginners level too last year, it's really a lot of fun. We would normally do a 15 min warm up of skipping, running, pushups, situps, squats and burpies. After that was a few drills on whatever the focus of the day was. Then 30 mins of sparring.