Close
Login
Register

Tips for beginners in Jui Jitsui

Wrestling, jujitsu, ground and pound or submit your opponent for the victory

Tips for beginners in Jui Jitsui

Postby ejk105 » Thu May 29, 2008 10:38 pm

I just started training jui jitsui, and coming in with basic wrestling skills, I was a fish out of water. I got the shit cranked out of my neck and was mounted a few times even though I knew I was more powerul. Any tips for motivation out there for a beginner like myself, perhaps to help me keep going?
ejk105
White Belt
White Belt

Re: Tips for beginners in Jui Jitsui

Postby easycore » Fri May 30, 2008 8:32 pm

If you want to really learn jiu jitsu and you have a wrestling background, try to put that out of your mind. You are learning a different discipline, that is not to say that wrestling isn't useful, but you need to learn how jiu jitsu player's hold top positions and fith off of their backs.

If you are stronger and bigger than your training partner, don't use your strength, it will hurt your technique a whole lot, and when you do end up in a match or fight with someone your size and strength, what you learned probably won't work. After all, think about Helio Gracie, small guy kicking big guys' asses with his technique, and that is the ideal right? to get the technique down without using much effort to conserve your energy, so don't hulk out on people.