Close
Login
Register

Just started training in Muay Thai and need advice on gear

Discuss the gear and equipment you have used to be successful

Just started training in Muay Thai and need advice on gear

Postby No_Gi » Tue May 04, 2010 9:17 pm

I just started training in Muay Thai and I was wondering what type of gloves do you recommend for hitting mitts and bag work. I need something with good cushioning and support. As far as weight goes I'm leaning toward 14 oz gloves, but i suppose 16 wouldn't be a problem. I can afford to spend up to $100 on gloves. I also would like to know what focus mitts do you recommend. I can afford up to $100 on mitts. Any input would be appreciated.

Would Fairtex's Bread and Butter be a good buy?
Last edited by No_Gi on Tue May 04, 2010 10:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
No_Gi
White Belt
White Belt

Re: Just started training in Muay Thai and need advice on gear

Postby MuayCrim » Tue May 04, 2010 9:26 pm

The thai gloves I use are just 12oz I think.

I wear something similar to these.
http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl= ... s%3Disch:1

But you can find a way cheaper pair out there. I'll leave you to the more experienced Thai fighters that know more about it.
MuayCrim
3 Account Ban Wins
3 Account Ban Wins

Postby MuayCrim » Tue May 04, 2010 9:30 pm

Here's the gear forums. You'll notice there's already a couple threads about Thai gloves. Your thread will probably get moved there actually.
gear-and-equipment-f103.html
MuayCrim
3 Account Ban Wins
3 Account Ban Wins

Postby Triley » Tue May 04, 2010 9:33 pm

Go wtih the 16s for bag work, extra ounces count for a lot when holding your arms up with 4 oz gloves later.
Triley, Cleaning up the streets of MMALinker

(04:15:07) mbb: I remember this goth guy telling me once that he trained in 7 different types of martial arts
(04:15:19) mbb: Was totally legit looking back on it
Triley
5th Professional Linker Victory
5th Professional Linker Victory

Postby joshphady1 » Tue May 04, 2010 10:06 pm